Immigration |  Aug 19, 2020

COVID-19 Update: Malta introduces the ‘Amber’ Travel List

Last updated: 28/04/2021

During a press conference on Monday 17th August 2020, the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Health, Dr Chris Fearne, announced that due to the surge in Covid-19 cases which our country is currently experiencing, travelers arriving in Malta from countries which fall within the newly introduced ‘Amber List’ must present a negative Covid-19 test before boarding their flight to Malta. It is our understanding that the said swab test would be required to be carried out within the last 72 hours prior to travel.

Therefore, passengers who fail to present such test results may be asked to take a swab test at the Malta International Airport or they may even be asked to self-quarantine in Malta upon their arrival.

The countries which form part of the ‘Amber List’ are the following:

  • Andorra
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Canada
  • China (including Hong Kong, Macau, Taiwan)
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France (All Airports except Ile-de-France)
  • Germany (All Airports except Baden-Wurttemberg)
  • Greece (All Airports except Attiki)
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Indonesia
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Latvia
  • Lebanon
  • Leichtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Monaco
  • Morocco
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Rwanda
  • San Marino
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Thailand
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • Uruguay
  • Vatican City

The ‘Amber List’ may be updated on a weekly basis.

Print this Page


#AmberList #COVID19 #COVID19Malta #TravellingToMalta #MaltaInternationalAirport